Just In: Tinubu Retires Service Chiefs, IGP, CG Customs, Appoints Replacements

Newly appointed Army Chief, Maj Gen T. A Lagbaja.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police, Comptroller-General of Customs and appointed their replacements with immediate effect.

Director, of Information, Willie Bassey, made the disclosure Monday on behalf of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

It will be recalled that the president, during his inaugural speech, promised to “defend the nation from terror and all forms of criminality that threaten the peace and stability of our country”, adding that “to effectively tackle this menace, we shall reform both our security doctrine and its architecture”.

New Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla.

President Tinubu also appointed DIG Kayode Egbetokun as the Acting Inspector-General of Police, and former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, as National Security Adviser (NSA).

Other appointments approved by the president are Maj. Gen. C.G Musa as Chief of Defence Staff (CDS); Maj. T. A Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff (COAS); Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla as Chief of Naval Staff (CNS) and Air Vice Marshall (AVM) H.B Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff (CAS), and
Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye as Chief of Defense Intelligence.

New Chief of Air Staff (CAS), AVM HB Abubakar.

Mr. President also approved the following appointments: Col. Adebisi Onasanya, Brigade of Guards Commander; Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf, 7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja; Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa, 177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State; Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim, 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger State; and Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote, 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja.

Similarly, the President has approved the appointments of other Military Officers in the Presidential Villa as follows: Maj. Isa Farouk Audu
(N/14695), Commanding Officer State House Artillery; Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183), Second-in-Command, State House Artillery; Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat (N/14656), Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence; Maj. TS Adeola (N/12860), Commanding Officer, State House Armament, and Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578), Second-in-Command, State House Armament.

New Police Chief, DIG Kayode Egbetokun (Ag.).

Furthermore, Mr. President has also approved the appointments of two additional Special Advisers, and two (2) Senior Assistants, namely: Hadiza Bala Usman, Special Adviser, Policy Coordination; Hannatu Musa Musawa, Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy; Sen. Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel, Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (Senate), and Hon. (Barr) Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim, Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives).

Also approved for appointment by the president is Adeniyi Bashir Adewale, as the Ag. Comptroller General of the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS).

National Security Adviser (NSA), Mallam Nuhu Ribadu.

“It is to be noted that the appointed Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police, and the Comptroller General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”, the statement said.



Previous articleLG Introduces Exclusive Voucher Promotion
Next articleJust In: Tinubu Dissolves Boards Of Parastatals, Agencies, Others

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.