Police Promotion: IGP Decorates 58 Senior Police Officers

The Inspector-General of Police, IGP Usman Alkali Baba, has decorated 58 newly promoted senior Police Officers with their new ranks.

The decoration took place on Thursday, 6th April, 2023, at the Goodluck Jonathan Peacekeeping Hall, Force Headquarters, Abuja, amidst cheers from their families, friends, and professional colleagues.

TheFact Daily recalls that the Police Service Commission, PSC, had last week, approved the promotion of AIG Adeolu Olukayode Egbetokun to the rank of Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG).

- Advertisement -

The Commission also approved the promotion of 24 Commissioners of Police (CPs) to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police, (AIGs), while 33 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) were promoted to substantive Commissioners of Police (CPs).

The PSC said, the promotion was approved for “deserving officers who have the requisite experience, years of dedicated service and academic records”.

Egbetokun was until his promotion, the Assistant Inspector-General of Police in charge of Zone 7. With his promotion to AIG, he would now be representing the South-west geopolitical zone of the country.

Some of the 24 new AIGs include Matthew Akinyosola, Jonathan Towuru, Abiodun Alabi, Akande Sikiru, Abimbola Shokoya, Yekini Ayoku, Olofu Adejoh, Aliyu Garba, Idrisu Dabban, Yusuf Usman, Haladu Ros-Amson, Babaita Ishola, Alexander Wannang, Ari Muhammed, Mamman Sanda, Sadiq Abubakar, Frank Mba, Benjamin Okolo, Oyediran Oyeyemi, Babaji Sunday, Arungwa Udo and Yusuf Chiromawa.

The Police Chief charged the newly promoted senior officers to internalize and uphold the tenets of the Presidential Police Reform Agenda while emphasizing respect for fundamental human rights and rule of law as enshrined in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

He congratulated them on the well-deserved promotions and tasked them to bring their wealth of experience to bear in their new postings which will be in tandem with their new ranks.

In attendance at the ceremony were the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chairman, Senate Committee on Police Affairs, Senator Haliru Jika; Chairman, House Committee on Police Affairs, Hon. Bello Kumo; Former Governor of Zamfara State, Ahmad Sani Yerima; the POWA President, Hajia Hajara Usman Alkali Baba, and a host of dignitaries and well-wishers from across the society. Also present was the paramount ruler of Yewa in Ogun State, HRM Oba Dr. Kehinde Olugbenle.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button