Tinubu Sets Up 6-Man Presidential Panel To Audit Social Investment Programmes

President Tinubu has approved the establishment of a Special Presidential Panel, headed by the Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance, Mr. Wale Edun to comprehensively review and audit the social investment programmes.

This is following the six-week suspension of the four (4) programmes under the National Social Investment Programmes Agency (NSIPA) due to fraud allegations.

The suspended programmes were: N- Power Programme, Conditional Cash Transfer Programme, Government Enterprise, and Empowerment Programme, and Home Grown School Feeding Programme.

- Advertisement -

In a statement on Saturday by the
Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Chief Ajuri Ngelale, Tinubu tasked the Panel to undertake a comprehensive review and audit of existing financial frameworks and policy guidelines of the social investment programmes with a view to implementing a total re-engineering of the financial architecture of the programmes with detailed modification to procedures guiding the programmes’ implementation moving forward.

Tinubu anticipates that the Panel will validate the confidence reposed in it by winning back all lost public confidence in the programmes over the years by ushering in a new era of operation based on open and accountable governance frameworks that will prove impervious to abuse and incompetence for the exclusive benefit of disadvantaged households across our nation.

The Panel, which is comprised of ministers representing strategic sectors and will ensure a multi-disciplinary approach to the reform effort, is made up of the following members:

(1) Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance – Chairman
(2) Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare – Member
(3) Honourable Minister of Budget and Economic Planning – Member
(4) Honourable Minister of Information and National Orientation – Member
(5) Honourable Minister of Communicatons, Innovation and Digital Economy – Member
(6) Honourable Minister of State for Youth – Member

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button