Ahead Appointment Of New IG: Nigeria Police Gets 9 New AIGs

The promotion of nine police officers from Commissioners of Police (CPs) to Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIGs), has been approved by the Police Service Commission (PSC), as well as 20,348 other senior officers, also promoted to their next ranks.

This is according to a statement issued by Mr Ikechukwu Ani, Head of Press and Public Relations of the Commission, on Thursday, in Abuja, which disclosed that the promotions followed a decision of the 11th Plenary of the Commission, presided over by its chairman, Musiliu Smith.

TheFact Nigeria gathers that the promotions are not unconnected with the matter of who takes over from the current Inspector General of Police, IGP Mohammed Adamu who retires on 1 February, 2021, when he would have attained the retirement age of 60 years of age or 35 years in service as stipulated in the civil service rule of the nation.

The current administration under the leadership of President Muhammadu Buhari has been accused in several quarters of not adhering to the principle of federal character in his appointment of public officers since he came to power in 2015, and several instances abound in the country where most appointments are skewed in favour of people from his north geo-political zone at the detriment of the south.

The statement from the Commission further disclosed that another nine officers were promoted from the rank of Deputy Commissioners to Commissioners of Police.

”The Commission also approved the promotion of three Chief Superintendents to Assistant Commissioners of Police, one thousand five hundred and seventy seven Deputy Superintendents to Superintendents of Police and two thousand, two hundred and ninety three Assistant Superintendents to Deputy Superintendents of Police.

“It also approved the promotion/confirmation of seven thousand, two hundred and eight three unconfirmed Assistant Superintendents (ASP11) to Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP1), nine thousand and seventy two Inspectors to Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP11) and one hundred and ten Inspectors promoted to Senior Inspectors” the statement reads.

The new Assistant Inspectors General are; Aminu Saleh Pai, former Commissioner of Police Kwara and Bayelsa States Command, former Force Quarter Master General and currently the Executive Secretary, The Police Multi Purpose Cooperative Society, Lagos; Dasuki Danbappa Galadanchi, former Commissioner of Police/Executive Secretary, The Police Multi Purpose Cooperative Society, Lagos and presently acting AIG Force CID Annex, Lagos; Okon Etim Ene, former Commissioner of Police Benue and Abia State Commands, CP SARS and currently CP Explosive Ordinance Disposal, (EOD) Force Headquarters and Abang B. John, former Commissioner of Police Akwa Ibom State Command and presently Commissioner of Police Anambra State Command.

Others are: Joseph Gobum Mukan, Former CP, Airport Command, Lagos and currently CP Rivers State; Aji Ali Janga, former CP Kaduna and Kogi State Commands and currently CP Sokoto; Mukaddas Mohammed Garba, presently CP Benue State Command; Habu Sani Ahmadu, former CP, IGP Monitoring Unit; CP Intelligence, Force Headquarters and CP Bauchi State Command and presently CP Kano State and Imohimi D. Edgal, former Commissioner of Police Lagos and Akwa Ibom States Command.

Others are Monday Bala Kuryas, DCP Operations, Ondo State; Hussaini Rabiu, DCP, Operations Imo State and Rabi Umar, former Assistant Force Secretary and presently DCP, Force Education, Force Headquarters, Abuja.

Chairman of the Commission, Smith, called on the newly promoted officers to see their new positions as a call to more commitment to the duty, and noted that the Commission will continue to ensure that promotions are regular and based on the relevant rules and regulations.

Previous articleSecurity Situation Largely Stabilised Under My Watch -Buratai
Next articleEFCC Arraigns Ex-Bayelsa Governor’s Aide, Others, For Alleged N864m Procurement Fraud

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.