Breaking: Buhari, Osinbajo Decorate New Service Chiefs


President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo have decorated the new Service Chiefs.

The event took place at an elaborate event at the Council Chamber of the State House today.

The new Service Chiefs included Major General Lucky Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff CDS, decorated as full General; Major General Ibrahim Attahiru; Chief of Army Staff COAS,decorated with the rank of Lieutenant-General.


Others were the Chief of Naval Staff CNS, Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo, who was decorated as Vice Admiral; and the Chief of Air Staff CAS, Air Vice Marshal Ishiaka Oladayo Amao, who is decorated with the rank of Air Marshal.


President Buhari had on January 26, accepted the resignations and retirements of erstwhile Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; former Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; former Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and immediate past Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.


The ceremony was witnessed by Vice President Professor Yemi Osinbajo; the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr Boss Mustapha; Defence Minister, Major-General Bashir Magashi (rtd); and the Chief of Staff to the President, Prof Ibrahim Gambari.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.